Media & News

News Releases
Crappie Masters Tournament Winners: Ethanol ‘Played a Factor’ in Championship

October 2, 2017


WASHINGTON - The Crappie Masters Tournament Trail recently ended its 2017 season, crowning Missouri natives Phillip Haynes and Paul Alpers its National Championship winners. The Renewable Fuels Association was a co-title sponsor of the event, in an effort to educate boaters, conservation enthusiasts and consumers about ethanol's benefits and its use in boats and other marine applications. Haynes and Alpers won the tournament on a chain of Mississippi lakes, catching 14 crappie weighing nearly 22 pounds. The pair received $30,000 in prize money, plus product and sponsor bonuses. The 2017 tournament trail kicked off in January and ran through late September, with 18 events in multiple states. The event also highlighted the boating community's use of 10% ethanol. Alpers said fueling with ethanol was an added benefit. "When Phillip and I fished the Crappiemasters National Championship, as we always do, we filled up our boat with E10 fuel," said Alpers. "We used E10 prefishing also. E10 burns cleaner, gives us great performance and more mileage. We suggest all Anglers use E10 fuel, or at least try it, as we know they'll be satisfied. We know it played a factor in us claiming the National Championship," he added. "There continues to be misinformation surrounding boating and ethanol, but for nearly 30 years, 10 percent ethanol has been used in all types of marine engines and the fuel blend is approved for use by all major marine engine manufacturers," said RFA Vice President of Industry Relations Robert White. "As Phillip and Paul have shown, E10 is safe to use in marine engines, providing an octane boost and helping to clean the air and water. It may even help you win a national championship!" RFA plans to continue its co-title sponsorship of the 2018 Crappie Masters Tournament Trail. Additional funding for the sponsorship came from the National Corn Growers Association. Bass Pro Shop was the other co-title sponsor of the event